Session Update: Week Five

Dale Rutledge

Week five of the 2020 session was postponed to allow us more time to scrutinize the budget cuts Governor Kemp has recommended. Every year, my colleagues and I meet for 40 days to work for the betterment of Georgia and numerous other days go toward committee meetings and constituent work. 

Governor Kemp instructed state agencies to reduce spending by four percent in AFY 2020 and six percent in FY 2021 budgets. Many of you may have read reports regarding our Speaker and Governor Kemp not agreeing on many of the issues surrounding the cuts. I agree with Speaker Ralston, and we will not be in a hurry to allocate $28 billion of your tax dollars. I also understand Governor Kemp’s position on tightening the budget. There is no better time to save money than when times are good. We are in a much better position to save now rather than waiting for bad economic times. We all know the government can always cut spending. I am confident my colleagues and I will be able to accomplish both savings and cuts when we start back on Tuesday, February 18th.

Some good news from Washington as President Trump’s proposed budget includes $93.6 million for the Savannah Harbor Expansion Project. These funds will help the project stay on track for completion by 2022. Georgia Ports Authority announced the Port of Savannah was awarded $34.6 million through the Port Infrastructure Development Grant by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

    Each week, you can return to my blog to read updates on what the General Assembly is working on for the state of Georgia. You are always welcome to visit me at my capitol office located at 601-C Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg. Atlanta, GA 30334. You can view my committee assignments for the legislative term here. Please feel free to contact me by phone at 404.656.0254, or by email at Do not hesitate to reach out throughout the legislative session with any opinions or questions you may have.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Below, I have listed out leaders from both chambers. You can click through each of their names to find more information about them.


Speaker of the House: David Ralston

Speaker Pro Tempore: Jan Jones

Majority Leader: Jon Burns

Majority Whip: Trey Kelley

Majority Caucus Chair: Matt Hatchett

Majority Caucus Vice-Chair: Micah Gravley

Minority Leader: Robert Trammell

Minority Whip: William Boddie

Minority Caucus Chair: James Beverly

Minority Caucus Vice-Chair: Erica Thomas


President Pro Tempore: Butch Miller

Majority Leader: Mike Dugan

Majority Whip: Steve Gooch

Majority Caucus Chair: John Kennedy

Majority Caucus Vice-Chair: Larry Walker

Minority Leader: Steve Henson

Minority Whip: Harold Jones

Minority Caucus Chair: Gloria Butler

Minority Caucus Vice-Chair: Emanuel Jones